Savory Oatmeal Pancakes

Guys.  Good news.  I fixed breakfast.

IMG_2132

You might not have known that breakfast was broken, but in my life it definitely was.  I always wake up hungry for breakfast rightthisminute, but lately I’ve been struggling to squeeze in a quick, healthy bite before running out the door to work.  I’ve done the green smoothies and occasionally I’m even up early enough for scrambled eggs, but I don’t think my poor, long-suffering roommates (the types of people who make their beds every morning) appreciate the dishes that inevitably get left in the sink when I rush out the door.   I wanted something I could make a big batch of and reheat.
IMG_2128
For a while now I have been ruminating on something oat-based.  I find oatmeal sticky and messy and difficult to get to the perfect consistency, and it usually explodes all over my microwave.  I loved the idea of oatmeal pancakes, but most recipes have about a 4:1 flour to oat ratio, and require a veritable drowning in maple syrup.  I love my sweets as much as the next girl, but for breakfast, I prefer something savory.
So I made my own, and they were perfect.  Lots of oats with just enough egg, flour and milk to hold it together; a bit of parmesan and butter for flavor; a bit of spinach for nutrition.  They’re sturdy and savory and they reheated (in my pop-up toaster!) like a charm.  Friends, breakfast is back.
Recipe:
2 cups oats (I used old fashioned, instant or rolled would also be fine)
4 T Whole Wheat Flour (or gluten-free flour of your choice)
2 T butter
2 T parmesan
2 eggs
1 cup milk
2 cups baby spinach (or other greens of your choice)
dash nutmeg
1/2 t salt
several grinds black pepper
Optional: Other flavorings – next time I might add a bit of minced onion or a sliced scallion for a bit more flavor
Rinse spinach and throw into a pan with water still clinging to the leaves.  Cook until wilted, then hold pan over sink and squeeze as much water out of the spinach as possible with the back of a spoon.  This keeps the spinach from adding too much moisture and removes the slightly chalky flavor you get in some cooked spinach.  Roughly chop squeezed spinach, and return to pan.
Throw butter into pan with chopped spinach and melt over low heat, allowing flavors to mingle.  Season with a generous dash of nutmeg and a bit of salt and pepper.  If using any onion or scallion, add now.
Meanwhile, whisk eggs together in a large bowl until combined.  Add the milk and whisk to combine.  Season with 1/2 t salt and several grinds of black pepper.  Whisk to combine.
Add spinach, melted butter, oats, and flour to liquids and combine with a rubber spatula.
Turn the pan up to medium high heat, and spray with cooking spray if it looks dry.  Drop the pancake batter into the pan in batches by large spoonfuls, pressing down slightly with the back of a spatula to even them out.  Flip when golden brown, and remove when golden brown on both sides.
Enjoy as is, or dip in yogurt mixed with salt and freshly squeezed lemon juice.
Leave a Reply

